Warning message

The subscription service is currently unavailable. Please try again later.

Playwrights Theatre Centre in Vancouver presents the event Unscripted: Lost and Found in Fado livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday, May 2 at 8:45pm EDT (Montreal) / 7:45pm CDT (Austin) / 6:45pm MDT (Albuquerque) / 5:45pm PDT (Vancouver).

In Twitter, use #howlround and #cafeonda and follow @PTC_Playwrights and @HowlRoundTV.

Unscripted: Lost and Found in Fado unwraps playwright and Playwrights Theatre Centre's Associate Elaine Ávila’s process and inspiration—the music of her heritage. We invite you to dip into Elaine’s Portuguese/ Azorean culture with us, by sampling immersive exhibits, music, and canapés from local Portuguese culinary artist, Chefe Daniel. To kick-start the evening, Fiona Black will share her experiences with Fado, the uniquely Portuguese form of the blues. Passionate about world music, Fiona Black has brought musical luminaries such as Antonio Zambujo, Vinicius Cantuaria, Ana Moura, Dead Combo, Camané, and Marcio Faraco to Canada. We will present excerpts from Elaine’s newest plays, dipping into her imaginative world. Join us for a musical, theatrical and culinary taste of Elaine’s heritage and imagination.

About HowlRound TV:
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound: A commons by and for people who make performance. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's performing arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917.686.3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.