Warning message

The subscription service is currently unavailable. Please try again later.

The Latina/o Theater Commons presents the 2015 Carnaval of New Latina/o Work—a showcase of new work by Latina/o playwrights and theatremakers in the United States—livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday, July 23 to Sat, July 25. Download the full Carnaval program here

In Twitter, use #LTCCarnaval to join the conversation and follow @CafeOnda and @HowlRoundTV

Livestream Schedule

Carnaval Opening Ceremonies
Thursday, July 23 at 10am CDT (Chicago) / 11am EDT (New York) / 8am PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT / 4pm BST (London)
Start your Carnaval journey off on the right foot with our opening ceremonies! You'll hear about the origins of the Carnaval, and how the trajectory of the LTC has led us to this point. We will be ending the ceremony with an environmentally friendly balloon release that symbolizes the collective efforts we can all make to further this cause.

Grab a Seat: Fueling Momentum Towards the New American Theatre
Friday, July 24 at 10am CDT (Chicago) / 11am EDT (New York) / 8am PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT / 4pm BST (London)
What are you doing to promote Latina/o theatre in the US? Hear from some leading theatremakers, including Roche Schulfer of the Goodman Theatre and Polly Carl of HowlRound and ArtsEmerson, on innovative producing strategies, opportunities, and challenges. Then, turn to your neighbor and continue the conversation at home with some help from our moderator, TCG Board President Diane Rodriguez and our DJ, Hi-ARTS' Tiffany Vega!

Las Cuatro: Exploring the Work of Cruz, Garcia-Crow, Grise, and Rodriguez
Saturday, July 25 at 10am CDT (Chicago) / 11am EDT (New York) / 8am PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT / 4pm BST (London)
Join us to hear short excerpts from Satryicoño by Migdalia Cruz, Appeal: The New American Musical of Mexican Descent by Amparo Garcia-Crow, Siempre Norteada: Always Lost, Always Late by Vicki Grise, and The Sweetheart Deal by Diane Rodriguez, followed by a dialogue with the playwrights.

Carnaval Closing Ceremonies
Saturday, July 25 at 8pm CDT (Chicago) / 9pm EDT (New York) / 6pm PDT (Los Angeles) / 01:00 GMT (Sunday, July 26)
Complete your Carnaval journey with our special closing ceremonies. We will hear from LTC co-founder Karen Zacarías, as well as the 2015 LTC Carnaval Award for Outstanding Advocacy for Latina/o Voices in the New American Theatre winners Christopher Acebo, Luis Alfaro, Juliette Carrillo, Henry Godinez, and Diane Rodriguez. 

About the LTC Carnaval
The LTC was born in 2012 as a self-organized collective that chose to adopt a commons based approach to advocate for Latina/o theatre as a vital, significant presence in the not-for-profit theatre sector. The LTC steering committee is composed of artists, activists, administrators, and scholars dedicated to updating the narrative of the American Theatre to reflect the poly cultural world in which we live.

Produced in association with Teatro Vista and the Chicago Alliance of Latino Theatre Artists (ALTA) and hosted by The Theatre School at DePaul University, the Carnaval will feature twelve new works by the nation’s top Latina/o talent. These new works by Latina/o playwrights were selected from nearly 100 submissions for their excellence, thematic diversity, and craft. The Carnaval will also introduce a national audience to Chicago’s vibrant Latina/o theatre community by curating nights of Chicago Latina/o theatre and featuring Chicago Latina/o actors, directors, and theatre leaders in every aspect of the festival. The LTC will make visible the wealth of talent within the Latina/o community and seek to ensure its future visibility on the local, regional, and national levels.

As an artist led event produced independently of any established institution, the Carnaval is uniquely positioned to showcase Latina/o theatre in all its aesthetic and cultural diversity and to propel that work onto stages nationwide. The success of the LTC over the past two years has proven that radical positive, widespread change can manifest and activate when we create space for new ideas to be exchanged within a framework that embraces the broadest forms of inclusivity. By inviting diverse voices to the table, the LTC hopes to cultivate a dynamic, productive dialogue that continues far beyond the Carnaval!

About the Latino/a Theatre Commons (LTC)
The Latino/a Theatre Commons operates as a collaborative initiative with HowlRound, a commons by and for people who make performance, housed at Emerson College. HowlRound, through Emerson College, acts as fiscal sponsor for the LTC, and provides infrastructure and mentorship to support our growth. In our actions, the LTC espouses the philosophical methods of HowlRound, and works to promote a commons-based approach to update the narrative of the American Theatre through advocacy, artmaking, convening and scholarship.

About HowlRound TV:
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound: A commons by and for people who make performance. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's performing arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917.686.3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.