Brown Bag Theatre Company presents The Service Workers Project: Contra La Corriente/Against the Current: a new play with original music inspired by the service workers at the University of California, Irvine livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday, May 3 at 8pm PDT (Los Angeles) / 9pm MDT (Albuquerque) / 10pm CDT (Austin) / 11pm EDT (New York). 

In Twitter, use #howlround and follow @HowlRoundTV.

In the tradition of a community-engaged project, the production is the result of a year-long relationship with the University of California Irvine Service Workers. UCI students involved with Brown Bag Theater Company collected stories through a series of events and story circles.

Contra la Corriente/Against the Current explores the humanity of the service workers and their plight against an unfair workplace. These individuals, who are often invisible and forgotten on our campus, have families, have struggles, and have stories that must be heard.

Playwright: Wind Woods
Director/Engagement Director: Amanda Novoa
Director: Julianna Ojeda
Producers: Lonnie Alcaraz, Maribel Martinez, and Amanda Novoa

About HowlRound TV:
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound: A commons by and for people who make performance. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's performing arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917.686.3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.