Warning message

The subscription service is currently unavailable. Please try again later.

The VORTEX in Austin, Texas presents Hunger by local playwright and poet Ebony Stewart livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday, September 4 at 9pm EDT (New York) / 8pm CDT (Austin) / 6pm PDT (San Francisco) / 01:00 GMT Saturday, September 5 / 11am AEST Saturday, September 5 (Sydney).

In Twitter, use #howlround and follow @HowlRoundTV.

Spokenword artist Ebony Stewart examines hunger in her new one-woman show, premiering for two weeks at The VORTEX. 

Stewart has been touring professionally around the U.S. and now returns to Austin to roar her truth with this unapologetic cascade of poetry and theatre. Open up to the space between forgiveness and farewell. Directed by Zell Miller III.

About Ebony Stewart
Ebony Stewart aka The Gully Princess is all things black, woman, and magic. She is the only adult female three-time Slam Champion in Austin Texas. Has shared stages with Buddy Wakefield and the late Amri Baraka. Coached the Neo-Soul slam team finishing 1st place in Group Piece Finals in 2012, coached the Austin Poetry Slam team leading them to 5th place in 2013 at the National Poetry Slam and coached the TheySpeak Poetry Slam team finishing top 8 in the world at Brave New Voices in 2014. Ebony writes because she has to, teaches Sex Education for a living and eats cupcakes for fun. Currently on her RISE! Tour, promoting sexual health, body image and healthy relationships through performance and workshops.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's performing arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com, or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917-686-3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming