A Call for Solidarity—a real-time networked performance linking Hawaii, Alaska, and New York City—livestreams on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday, April 15 at 8pm EDT (New York) / 7pm CDT (Chicago) / 5pm PDT (Los Angeles) / 4pm AKDT (Alaska) / 2pm HAST (Hawaii).

In Twitter, follow @culturehubnyc and @howlroundtv, and use hashtag #howlround.

Join us in an innovative online live performance and exchange in real-time with cultural groups across the country who explore the intersection between traditional cultural dance and music from Hawaii, Puerto Rico and Alaska which will be remixed and explored through Hip Hop, Spoken word, and visual theatre. 

New York youth poets will use Hip Hop and Spoken Word to bring a contemporary take on timeless cultural traditions out of Hawaii, Puerto Rico via The Bronx, and Alaska.

Imagine Bomba Alaskan style, Hawaiian chants to a beat box rhythm and the poetics of identity transformed into an interactive networked theatre.

Themes explored will include: solidarity, heritage and identity, survival and power, justice and injustice. 

Artspace and CultureHub are working with a network of social justice arts organizations to push the boundaries of using video conferencing technology as an art-making platform to allow a new collaboration called network performance which allows geographically remote artists to exchange multimedia performances in real time across the country.

Experience this ambitious and lively cultural experience online at HowlRound.TV

Length: 90 minutes

Presenting Partners: Alaskan Native Heritage Center, La Mama, PA’I, and Pregones Theater

Facilitators: Artspace Projects working in partnership with CultureHub, funded by the Ford Foundation

About HowlRound TV:
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound: A commons by and for people who make performance. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's performing arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917.686.3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.